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Ohio Board of Speech-Language Pathology and
Audiology

Licensure & Continuing Education Reference Guide

Submitted by Barb Conrad, MA, CCC-SLP, Regional Supervisor of Speech-Language Therapy Services,
ESC of Lorain County

Licensure and Continuing Education Requirements

for School-based Speech-Language Pathologists and Educational Audiologists

+
AGENCY RENEWAL PROCESS | RENEWAL CYCLE CONTACT PROOF FEE MANDATORY OR
HOURS REQUIRED OPTIONAL
REQUIRED
OHIO BOARD OF | Renew OBSLPA license | 2 year cycle. Must renew | 20 contact hours | Proof of contact | $120 fee. MANDATORY to practice in
SPEECH online every two yearsno | no later than December | including 2 hours | hours: suchas | Dual:$170 any setting in the state of Ohio.
PATHOLOGY AND | later than December 31* of | 31* of each even year. inEthics. Ten | Certificatesof | A§150 fine
AUDIOLOGY each even year. CEBroker | Audits randomly selected | hours mustbe in | Attendance, will be
(OBSLPA) is recommended to track | amongst those who do not | your licensure | transcripts, efe. 1f | meurred if
www.sIpaud.ohio.gov | continuing education. use CEBroker. area audited. renewal is late.
Audits randomly selected Total with late
amongst those who do not fee=$270.
use CEBroker.
OHIO Renew online at ODE: Syear cycle. Licensure | ODE defersto | Submit renewal | $200every S | MANDATORY for school
DEPARTMENT OF | education ohio.gov period is from July 1*to | the OBSLPA’s | application, fee & | years based practice
EDUCATION Tune 30 every five years | continuing A COPY of
(ODE)* Search 'teacher licensure' | for ODE licenses. education OHIO BOARD
for a link to the online Permanent ODE requirements® | of SPEECH
www.ode.state.oh.us | renewal system. certificate holders must PATHOLOGY
be fingerprinted every &
five years unless holder AUDIOLOGY
has lived in Ohio those LICENSE
years-in that case only
FBI background check is
necessary.
AMERICAN Must sign affirmation Renew ASHA 30 contact hours | Proof of contact | $225 annually | CCC’s and membership in
SPEECH AND statement every 3 years | membership/certification | to keep your hours such as to renew your | ASHA is OPTIONAL for
HEARING attesting to accumulation | annually. Contacthours | CCC’s current. | Certificatesof | CCC’sand | school based practice. If you
ASSOCIATION of 30 contact hours to keep | are required every 3 years. | Contacthowrs | Attendance, membership. | hold ASHA CCC’s you MUST
(ASHA) CCC’s valid. Auditsare | Continuing education collected for University Additional follow continuing education
randomly selected. cycles vary. OBSLPAcan | transcript or fees optional | requirements to keep your CCC
www.asha.org also be used for | ASHA CE to join specific | current.
ASHA. registry if Divisions.
audited.

*Under the 1998 Certification/Licensure Standards, physical therapists, school social workers, audiologists, speech-language pathologists, school nurses, and occupational
therapists are required to maintain licensure through the other professional board in that area. In order to renew Department of Education licenses, these educators must
maintain their other board license. By doing so, they meet all Department of Education renewal requirements and therefore do not need to work through the LPDC. These
individuals will renew by submitting a renewal application with proof of current professional license to the Department of Education
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