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September 26 marked the thirtieth anniversary of the creation of the Board.  The 

early days of the Board were taken up with organizing and creating the systems 

needed to license and regulate the audiology and speech-language pathology 

professions in Ohio.  The first Board members were Robert Schmidt, Betty Jane 

Philips, Andrew Douglas, Ray Le Zak, and Helen Langel.  Starting from scratch 

these individuals drafted the first rules, established licensing criteria, and created 

investigation procedures.  All of this was accomplished without a staff.  I salute 

these individuals for their dedication to their profession in building the foundation 

of this Board.   During the next year the Newsletter will look back on the history of 

the Board and the many changes that have occurred. 

 

This Newsletter will also look at the significant changes brought about with the 

recent amendments to our Rules.  Please take the time to review these.  All of 

our licensees will be impacted by one or more of these changes. 
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2005 PROPOSED RULE CHANGES 

There were fifteen rules changed this year. Significant changes in our rules 

relative to licensing of audiologists, educational standards and our fee structure 

are worth noting.  The updated law and rules are posted on the Board website. 

4753-3-04 Educational requirements for licensure. 
As a result of amendments to our governing statute, R.C. 4753, audiologists who 

have attained a post graduate degree in audiology after December 31 of this year 

must have a doctoral degree in audiology to be eligible for licensure.  This will 

also eliminate the conditional audiology license for audiologists who apply under 

these new rules.  This change will not affect the license eligibility of audiologists 

who have a master’s degree obtained prior to January 1, 2006.   

 

4753-3-05 Student clinical experience requirements. 
Changes in ASHA standards for student clinical experience brought about 

changes in this rule.  The rule maintains the past requirements for accounting for 

clinical experience and also accepts current ASHA or ABA standards for student 

clinical experience.  All Ohio programs in speech-language pathology and 

audiology are accredited by ASHA and therefore, graduates of these programs 

meet this licensure requirement. 

 

4753-5-01 Speech-language pathologist or audiologist; fee for initial license 
fee; for renewal of license; late renewal fee. 
Over the past five years the Board has built up a surplus of funds that  support 

the operations of the Board.  The surplus is currently over $630,000.  The Board 

elected to spend down this surplus over the next two renewal periods by 

reducing the renewal fees of our licensees.  It is likely that our fees will be 

increased in 2009 to a level of approximately $140-$150 for renewal fees, 

depending on the operating costs of the Board at that time.  A renewal fee for 
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dual licensees was established at $150 for the audiology and speech pathology 

licensees.  Application fees for conditional and full licensure remain the same. 

New Fee Structure Changes 
License Renewal fee  $100 

Dual License fee         $150 

Late Renewal fee        $150 

 
4753-5-04 Fee for duplicate license certificate. 
The $10 fee for a duplicate license certificate was abolished.  The Board felt that 

this is a service to our licensees that should be covered by their licensing and 

renewal fees.  Many other regulatory boards charge for duplicate licenses, 

license verifications and other services.   

 

The Board will begin looking at proposed rule changes for 2006 early next year.  

At this time we are considering clarifying the scope of practice rules for speech-

language pathology reflecting changes in the technology that are employed by 

SLP’s, particularly in clinical settings.  If you have any suggestions for other 

changes in our rules please contact the Board. 

 
 

BOARD HISTORY 101 
The Board was created in 1975 by the 111th General Assembly by passage of 

House Bill 79 which became Chapter 4753 of the Ohio Revised Code 

(R.C.4753).  The Bill was signed by Speaker of the House, Vern Riffe,  President 

of the Senate, Richard F. Celeste, and Governor James Rhodes.  The law 

became effective September 26, 1975. 

 

The first appointees to the Board were Betty Jane Phillips, Andrew Douglas, 

Helen Langel, Robert Schmidt, and Raymond LeZak.  The first meeting of the 

Board took place on October 27, 1975 at the Howard Johnson’s in Worthington. 

The first Board set about to create the rules (Administrative Code), develop the 
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necessary logistics to establish a licensing process, propose a budget, and 

create a process for consumer complaints.  The Board had no office, no hired 

staff and initially no resources to implement R.C.4753. 

 

The original Board rules were approved in April 1976.  An administrative 

assistant was hired in May of 1976.  The first licenses were granted in June of 

1976.  The Board’s first office was occupied in July of 1976.  The devotion of the 

first Board to the professions is evident in the results they achieved in such a 

short amount of time and with limited resources.   

 

 
WEBSITE UPDATE 

slpaud.ohio.gov 

• Board Minutes are now being posted on the Board’s website within two 

weeks of the Board Meeting.  These minutes are reflective of the actions 

of the Board at their most recent meeting; however the minutes have not 

been formally approved by the Board.  These minutes are posted in the 

interest of bringing more timely information to our constituents.  Official 

transcripts of the minutes will be posted upon approval of the Board. 

• The new rules and law are posted on the Website 

• A survey (Survey Monkey) is now posted on the site. 

• Visitors to the website can sign up for the Board’s list serve. 

 

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
Beginning in November licensees who have received disciplinary actions in 

the past four years will have these actions noted on their Ohio E License file 

which is accessible at: license.test.ohio.gov/lookup. 

 

REMINDER:  LICENSE RENEWAL WILL BEGIN IN JULY 2006. 
RENEWALS MUST BE COMPLETED BY SEPTEMBER 30, 2006 
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