Board Action/ Enforcement
  Board Meetings
  Board Members and Staff
  Committees
  Complaint Procedure
Continuing Education
  Fee Schedule
  For Consumers
  Forms and Applications
  Laws and Regulations
  License Lookup/Verification
  Links
  Minutes
  Name and Address Change
  Newsletters
  Request License Verification for Another State
  Vision and Value Statement
   
  Feedback
  Board Home
 

Resources for Ethics Requirement:

Effective January 1, 2015, licensed speech-language pathologists and audiologists must complete 20 clock hours of continuing education with at least two clock hours related to ethics. Licensees may find appropriate ethics related programs from the following resources. For additional information about specific ethics related programs, licensees should contact the continuing education sponsor directly.

    LIST OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS THAT MAY OFFER PROGRAMS RELATED IN ETHICS (LISTED ALPHABETICALLY):

    Note: The Board is providing the information below as a resource to assist licensees with identifying ethics related continuing education (CE) hours for their CE requirement. The Board is not affiliated in any way with the entities listed below. It is the licensee's responsibility to contact the CE provider directly to verify the content of the course, any fee, and how to register. The information on this list is subject to change without the Board's knowledge or control. Please report broken links to the board office at: board@slpaud.ohio.gov, as well as any requests to add a CE provider to the list below.

    Information in this list should not be construed as an endorsement by the Board. This list is not intended to be all inclusive, and the resources below represent just a few of the many ways licensees can obtain continuing education related to ethics. Please review the Board's rules on continuing education under Ohio Administrative Code section 4753-4-01 (B) for additional information about continuing education experiences licensees may complete to earn their two hours in ethics..

Additional Resources

  • Ohio Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology ethics presentation at the OSLHA, OAA, and OSSPEAC conventions
    • Contact these entities directly for information regarding their conferences

  • Employers may offer ethics training opportunities
    • Ask your employer about sponsoring a professional development activity related to ethics

  • Any CE approved in related disciplines by any licensure board of the state of Ohio or any other state
    • Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board requires licensed occupational therapists to complete 1 hour in ethics- www.otptat.ohio.gov/

    • Ohio Counselor, Social Worker and Marriage and Family Therapist Board requires licensees to complete 3 hours in ethics - www.cswmft.ohio.gov/

    • Other States - Contact the following state regulatory boards to verify their approval of any continuing education programs related to ethics.

      • Kentucky Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology requires licensees to complete 2 hours in ethics - www.slp.ky.gov/
      • Texas Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology requires licensees to complete 2 hours in ethics - www.dshs.state.tx.us/
      • Wisconsin Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology requires licensees to complete 2 hours in ethics - www.dsps.wi.gov/
State Home